Gaming computer?

This is where you would discuss your fantasy team. Look for advice, as well as talk about your favorite video games. The Geekery so to speak.
Gaming computer?

Postby NYBF » Thu Mar 02, 2017 1:25 pm

My son has a birthday coming up. He has asked everyone in the family for cash so he can buy a gaming laptop. He plays nothing that would requires anything powerful. But he's got a couple rich friends, they asked their parents for gaming computers for Christmas, and they got them. I've been trying to talk him out of it, but he seems hellbent on it.

I've got a couple questions. Is there an inexpensive laptop or desktop that you would recommend? Maybe something that's expandable if he gets more serious about it or starts playing games that require more power?

What about building one? I've never built a PC before, but I'm not techtarded. How difficult would that be? Could that be a good father / son project for us to work on?

What are some things I should be looking for when we're shopping?
NYBF

Re: Gaming computer?

Postby Rocker » Thu Mar 02, 2017 2:19 pm

A budget conscious, decent rig can be built for around 7-800 bucks. You're still on the hook for peripherals (monitor, mouse, keyboard, etc). Can be put together on a weekend no problem.

Laptops are going to be more expensive due to their portability on the average of a few bills vs a comparable desktop; but some of the small form factor chassis out there can just as easily be thrown in a backpack and since most current video cards use HDMI, if he's going to a buddy's house he'd still be able to rock and roll.

The desktop setup I just bought myself was about 1200, but a nice chunk of that was in the monitor; and will run just about anything out there quite easily.

RAM and a dedicated video card are going to be the things he cares most about.

Outsider is probably another good source. PM me if you want to discuss details about anything.
Rocker

Postby NYBF » Thu Mar 02, 2017 2:48 pm