The Robots Are Coming

A Place to respectfully discuss those topics that you should never discuss.
The Robots Are Coming

Postby Mountaineer Buc » Thu Nov 12, 2015 7:22 pm

Could a robot do your job? Could software?

As an accountant, I can assure you that my profession's days are numbered. Much of the expertise my job requires is fulfilled by MS Excel. I just have to be smart enough to put the right numbers in the right cells and viola! Financial statements. How long until my long hours of being the interface between the software that collects the data and the software that consolidates the data is replaced by a software upgrade? I bet its within my lifetime.

Bill Gates thinks so.

http://www.businessinsider.com/bill-gat ... obs-2014-3

We already have touchscreen kiosks at fast food joints, and self checkout at most retail stores. They are working on self driving 18 wheelers for long haul trucking and your car can parallel park itself. In the military we already have drones that can linger over the battlefield for hours for air superiority and I suspect drone sentries and robot tanks are not far away. How long until the Navy has drone ships to patrol for submarines and drone submarines to patrol for those drones? Some guy at Grumman is dreaming that **** up right now. Somebody just developed a robot that can lay brick and build a house in a matter of hours.

The pilot for your airliner taxis the plane, takes off, lands, taxis to the gate and thanks you for flying Delta. The plane flies itself after a certain point and has been doing so for quite some time. If I'm not mistaken, the plane can land itself if need be nowadays.

So the point is that our technology is creating more and more opportunities for automation to perform tasks that people do today. Oxford says that nearly half of ALL jobs will be lost to automation in 20 years. They should have skipped the will be and gone with could be and spared us the hyperbole, but nevertheless the trend is there.