Poker

A place to discuss MLB, NBA, and other sports.
Poker

Postby Noles1724 » Fri Jan 22, 2016 5:03 pm

Yeah I put it in "Other Sports".. it's a competition and all..

Any ways, anyone play here consistently? Cash Table/Tourney? Cool stories/bad beats?

I've been playing weekly for about 3 yrs now. Summer time, every day as my wife goes to IL for the summer with the kids (she's a teacher) and during the school year, on Fridays but may be a multiple times per week depending on how comfy the couch looks.

that being said, I started with a bankroll of $1,400 and for the most part my bankroll is still at $1,400. I play $1/$2 NL and I'll play occasionally in a 5k guaranteed ($50 entry) tourney provided I get a free entry (cash table, quads utilizing pocket cards earn a free entry in addition to whatever the room high hand promo is at the time.). I only play when it's a free roll because I'm not a big fan of the blind structure.

All in all I would say I'm up over a couple of g's seeing how my winnings have funded many things (weekly personal trainer for my wife, haven't paid out of pocket for mary jane in 3 years, 2 summer road trips with the kiddos, misc purchases). In addition to winning at the low limit gms, I also notched my first tourney win. Well we chopped the winnings when we got down to 6 players (177 entries) and I had the most in chips and demanded a larger payout then the rest because I had more chips.. which I got. And since the object of the tourney is to make the most money I'm going to consider it a win dammit!

anyhow, what say you? do you play? think it's a stupid gambling game?
Noles1724

Re: Poker

Postby bucfanclw » Thu Jan 28, 2016 11:56 am

Does FSU also consider competitive cross-stitching a "sport"?
bucfanclw

Postby PrimeMinister » Thu Jan 28, 2016 12:03 pm

No I don't play much and definitely not for money. How long had you been playing prior to they last 3 years?
PrimeMinister

Postby Noles1724 » Thu Jan 28, 2016 4:11 pm